Friday, August 30, 2013

LABOR DAY SALE for E.L.F. COSMETICS!!



Hey guys I just wanted to post this quick video which includes a great coupon code so you can load up on your favorite E.L.F. cosmetics at a great price!

Happy Shopping!

Friday, August 23, 2013

Top Summer Road Trip Songs

I'm gearing up for a 4 hour road trip next weekend so I thought I would update my iPod and share the songs that I live for on long road trips and why I loooove them. Let's get started!

1. Anything by Bob Marley. Reggae is my favorite genre of music. It's calm, melodic, and most of the time has a message of love and fun. That pretty much sums up the summer for me!

2. Summer Nights by Florrie. I'm sure you've heard it. It's catchy and dance-y. A song about a summer fling with a boy " in the parking lot." Not the most meaningful lyrics, but its cute.

3. Brave by Sara Barielles. Say what you wanna saaaayy! She always has a meaning and I like that she plays an instrument and encourages people to be real. I used to play the piano sooo... she makes me wish I'd continue, but I like her voice too!

4. Safe and Sound. I have no idea who its by but I'm loving the sound. If you know who its by, please leave me a comment down below!

5. Get Lucky by Pharell Williams and Daft Punk. Love the 70's feel and guitar riffs. Makes me wanna spray glitter in my hair and wear bell bottoms!

6. I Need Your Love by Calvin Harris. Again with the techno-dance beat and the rave feeling you get. I am really getting into the techo-electronic sound, my workout playlist is full of it

7. Thrift Shop/ Can't Hold Us by Macklemore. The spawn of Ron Weasley and Draco Malfoy has repped Seattle and brought two of the catchiest songs of the year. Who knew white boys had so much swag!

8.We Wont Be Shaken by Building 429- Love it! It's so inspirational and while its not Top 40, Christian Alternative Rock fills me with gratefulness and gratitude.

9. One More Night by Maroon 5. I got to see Maroon 5 in concert last summer and they sounded great! The tickets were 20.00 and to see them and Train was a great time!

10.Come and Get It by Selena Gomez. I know she can't sing, live or not. They made her sound fab in the studio. I like the Indian beat. I would like the song even if it was sung by someone else and it probably should have but hey, not hatin'.

So those are my top ten. What are some of yours?? Leave me a comment below!

Saturday, August 17, 2013

Are YOU READY??

Football season!! Oh I've missed you. Please take the scandals of baseball out of the lime light. Now I know people say preseason isn't really football. My analogy is well the Original Cheerios aren't as great as Honey Nut Cheerios, but you still eat them, right?? So preseason whets my regular season appetite. So pour yourself a bowl because the Dallas Cowboys are playing today vs. the Arizona Cardinals at 4:30 pm. I think Carson Palmer needed the fresh start with a new team, but I really need to see something out of Tony Romo this year. I mean the guy is getting paid mucho moolah to throw interceptions? Time to step up Tony. Camp is over, strap on a pair and lets win some games!! 

So what team are you rooting for this year and why??

Thursday, August 8, 2013

I Can See Clearly Now


The end is finally here! The journey has been long, hard, and ardous. But BREAKING NEWS!! I got my braces off today! I don't know how kids do it, years of painful adjustments, razor sharp wires and other gadgets. I'm so glad it's over- now back to loving corn on the cob, hamburgers, and Twix!! Don't judge me. Now that everything is gone, my mouth actually feels... empty. But I'll get over it, don't you worry!!

So if you've had braces, how did you feel when they came off? What was your celebration food?

Top 10 Tips for People Getting Braces!

I got my braces on October 31 in 2011. Total bummer- no Halloween candy for me. I decided at the age of 31 to get them just for totally selfish reasons: to boost my confidence in speaking to people. But once I got them on, I realized that there was so much I was not prepared for, mainly the pain and inconvenience of going back every 4-6 for MORE pain. So I decided to pick the top 10 things I wish someone had told me, and I could have been more prepared!!

What suggestions would you add??


Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Happy Birthday, America!!

Photo: Spectacular fireworks last night!  My battery died so I couldn't catch the middle and finale part of it...but I got the beginning part of it.

As we are indeed enjoying the freedoms that our armed forces have preserved and protected for us for many years, I am sure we are all grateful and thankful for them, right? RIGHT??!! So let's make sure that we let them know. I come from a long line of military family members but I still sometimes neglect the obvious. Have a happy and safe Fourth of July. Embrace the idea that we are all AMERICAN no matter what gender, ethnicity, race or religion.

Homemade Corn dog Muffins!

We are a few months away from the Texas State Fair and I'm beginning to get excited about 2 things- funnel cakes and corn dogs. But I'm not going to spend almost 30 bucks for admission just for those two things- (I don't do rides! Never have, never will) So I found this idea on Pinterest and ran with it- Corn Dog muffins. I used the Earl Campbell hot links and a cheap boxed muffin mix.

For the corn dog effect, I added 2 tsp. of sugar. I added the water (1/2 cup) mixed the hot links in, and poured the mix into greased tins.


At 430 for 18 minutes, they were ready. Tip- Let them cool :( A few were too crumbly and fell apart. But the spice of the links and the sweetness of the bread, I was in heaven. These did not last long.Add ketchup or mustard and you have got it made!!

My Summer Food Craving

I'm living in the Tex-Mex mecca but I like the fresh and convenient way of making my own food at home. So when its 100 degrees every day pico de gallo becomes my craving, and pairing it with thin pita or tortilla chips is a healthy snack or sometimes meal for me. So I'm sharing my recipe with you all :) You're welcome!


Ingredients:
1 medium tomato, diced
1 red onion, finely chopped

1/2 fresh jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped

2 sprigs fresh cilantro, finely chopped

Sunday, June 16, 2013

Happy Father's Day!

The Comfort Zone": Happy Father's Day

Life Updates (Summer 2013) !!

Hello Family- yes that means you, whoever is reading this!! I have been away much longer than I had planned. And I will explain all...

Well what had happened was- I got lazy, and busy, plain and simple. I started school and just got a flurry of work, work, school, school, and I just devoted all of my time and energy into Grad School ( I know, how dare I? lol) I moved in March, seriously still haven't unpacked everything. After the Reggae Fest I started working again, but not feeling my best. I love Spring but my allergies don't. I got a sinus infection so being vertical was not happening. And I dove into school hard. Taking 5 classes in 4 months was much harder than I thought. I hit a wall and just had to take a break, with summer approaching I have taken a little break and have finally let myself relax and breathe a little by having a social life! Food, movies, bowling, and cooking with the girls has really helped me chill out. I have family birthdays throughout the summer, and then the parent's wedding anniversary and my birthday in September so I am ready to start enjoying this humid weather.
Maybe the girls will be up for a road trip to Austin or San Antonio?? I hope so!!
... warm weather, and get the most out of your summer before it’s gone

So I hope that you all out there are gearing up for a summer full of sun, food, friends, and good times P:

Be safe out there :)
SportsN'Sprinkles

When You Plan A Date, Please Don't.....

OMG Guys. THIS is why I'm still single. Let's just get right into it. So I had 2 planned dates. On this past Thursday and one yesterday. I was supposed to meet #1 at a local sports bar to watch the NBA Finals. I  asked him to meet me there at 7:30. I also said I would wait 15 minutes but would then leave. I gave him my phone number in case he got lost. Anyway long story short, he was a no-show - I. KNOW. Instead of leaving, I invited other friends and we had a great time watching the game, so it worked out. Since I didn't have his number yet, and was quite inebriated, I wrote him an email letting him know I didn't appreciate him not showing. The answer I got was" I tried to call you but there was no answer." Really? Have you not heard of a text, or a voice mail, or heaven forbid, keep calling? I'm sorry my phone isn't attached to my ear all day. But after stewing and moving on, I really think he got scared- ye,s I said it. He wasn't ready to start a relationship and in insecure. I promise honesty will save people time and effort and now he has lost both from me. So yesterday I had a lunch and movie date with #2. We had planned on seeing Fast and the Furious 6, then going to lunch. SO after getting cute(!) I arrives at the theater, just to sit and wait for 15 minutes. At the correct time I text him to let him know I was going into the theater. I receive  his text "I'm on my way." I'm sorry but the movie won't wait for you, and neither will I. So the movie has already started and then he calls me to say he's finally there. 25 minutes later. ARE YOU SERIOUS? You might as well go back home! And sitting next to me, I fumed through the entire movie. Here's the kicker guys- he smelled. FUNKY. Like he hadn't showered. EWWWW.  So when the movie was over, I thanks him for coming and said I'd take a rain check on lunch. We said our goodbye's without any physical contact and I think he got the hint. I met my friend for lunch and that was that. So here is what I learned in my 3 short days of dating that I think will help guys for dating. If you want to have a good time and keep the girl happy, please follow these rules.

Rule #1- Be honest.
Rule #2 Be confident in who you are.
Rule #3 BE ON TIME- or really early would be great!
Rule #4 SHOWER!!! Especially in the summer. Add cologne if you want :)
Rule #5 Be prepared to pay even if she decides to bring her own money!

So here's to another try and please try to remember that it's supposed to be fun!!
See you guys around. Much love!!

SportsN'Sprinkles

Saturday, June 8, 2013

Memorial Day


My cousin who lives in Florida came to town and his cute kiddos talked my ears off :) With two boys and a girl he definitely has his hands full. But decorations, a pool and a grill pretty much always equals a good time,right? What wasn't good was the temperature. I think anything over 80 degrees is punishment. 

Yeah I actually made plans and was social this year. Hey if you know me, that's a big step. Fast forward to Memorial Day...My friend had a cookout at her house. It was actually fun!! I am the master at Taboo, I'm just sayin. We played board games and ate, watched t.v. and ate, talked and ate. Did I mention I ate? 



And I know that the real reason for Memorial Day is to celebrate our armed forces, don't get me wrong. I come from a military family. My grandfather was in the army. My sister was a Marine. I have an uncle who was in the Army. So I definitely appreciate them. For a second I thought about joining but there were 2 things that held me back. One I don't run, and two, I don't like yelling so yeah, that rules me out. But I hope everyone had a great Memorial Day and a special shout out if you were or are in the military. Bonus points if you're male and single :)

Happy Belated Mother's Day to everyone- and My Ode to my sister

I know, I know I am waaaay late, but you will find out why. Anyway I just wanted to share with you all what I did for my Mother on her special day, which turned into her special week but I didn't mind one bit.

It's very hard to buy presents for my mom. She is the poster child for ADD. I took her to a store   ( that rhymes with Whennie's) and told her to pick out 3 things she liked. She started with white jeans, then wanted a tan purse, then jewelry,then shoes. 

Needless to say we left that first store with nothing. I took her to three stores with no luck. But alas, we ended up going to trusty Old Navy where she found a cute dress for 10 bucks, a coral blouse, and 2 sets of earrings. The total was 55 bucks, and she was so happy, which made me happy. I then treated her to ice cream which pretty much made her day- as we try to eat healthy. The next day (Sunday) my parents went to church and brunch. After all the festivities, she was pretty tired. The entire rest of week I caught her on the phone telling whomever what she got for Mother's Day. The following Saturday we went out to eat for lunch. She has a favorite Chinese place that is dangerously only about 5 minutes from where we live. So I took her and when the bill came I paid for it and she was so surprised and happy. Simply made me feel like I'd bought her a car or something. Anyway, she had a great time and that's all that mattered to me. BOOM!

I know my sister will probably never read this but I have to tell you I have the best older sister in the world.  Being only 2 years and some change older she took on the role pretty serious starting when I entered junior high. Like to the point where she threatened to spank me a few times. I look up to her so much and she and I are like PB&J to this day. No lie. So every time there is a chance I embarrass her on Facebook as payback but I seriously love that girl and will probably go to jail sometime because of her. But I love her and we act 10 years when we get together. So sissy, I love you and can't wait to see you in August!!!!
Mothers Day Greetings Wallpapers

I hope everyone had a great Mother's Day. Whether you have one, are one, or know a great one.

Sending you glittery sprinkles!!

Monday, April 22, 2013

Austin 2013 ReggaeFest~~

I spent this weekend at the Austin ReggaeFest. This is my second year in a row and it was so much fun!! I came back tired, dehydrated and sunburned but listened to some great music and ate some really good food :)



Saturday, January 19, 2013

Lance Armstrong's Pity Party, table for 1

So I watched the Oprah interview with Lance Armstrong, parts 1 and 2 are both found on youtube, commercial free. She definitely got back in the spotlight with this interview. Here are my thoughts on him.

1. Completely emotionless= not sorry.
2. His aversion to making eye contact makes me believe he lied to Oprah as well. 
3. "I've sued so many people, I didn't keep track". Are you serious??
4. Two hours was not enough. He needs to squirm and I think a few of his team members should have been able to grill him along with Oprah. I would have loved a fistfight or two.
5. He gets to make jokes about women and call them bitches but says "I never called you fat" like then we should be all "oh ok. We're cool then!" Umm no.
6. The only time he shows emotion is when he has to talk about his son Luke. It's about freakin' time. Too bad its ten minutes before the interview is over.
7. He didn't seem to care about trashing his ex-wife who stood by him. He seemed to dislike her for her religious background. That's exactly what he needs right now! Sheryl Crow wasn't mentioned at all either.
8. His poor mother gets no recognition and he doesn't apologize for putting her through all of this. Just because she's a "fighter" and "tough lady" doesn't mean she doesn't deserve better.
9. Awww, now he can't run in marathons or any sanctioned races. I don't care. For the rest of his life, he shouldn't even be able to attend any sanctioned race or sit in the stands.
10. Thanks for pointing out that in one weekend you lost all your advertisements that cost 75 million dollars, more than most of the population will ever see or earn. Yeah now I really feel sorry for you.


Thursday, January 17, 2013

5 Things NOT to say to a sick girl!



1. "You look tired." Really? Cuz I haven't slept, I'm congested, and I feel great. But thanks for pointing it out. Nothing like coming to work when I have to, slapping on the warpaint and pretending to feel fine, but have someone point out that you look like hell.

2. "You look sick." My green,clammy, blotchy skin gave you a hint, huh??

3. "What's wrong with you?" Why? Are you a doctor? Because unless you are, you can't help me. Now get away!!

4. "Are you hungry?" Um, yes but I'm sure it won't taste as good coming up, so I'll stick to soup and crackers, while you eat anything and everything you want. Someone tell me why everything smells sooo amazing when you can't have it?

5. "Have you taken any medicine?" No I just am going to suffer like this for my religious repentance. Of course I have!

So those are a start. If you have any others that drive you crazy, leave them below. 

Thanks for listening!
SportsNSprinkles

Monday, January 14, 2013

Awww... my teams lost!

Well since I am sick I was able to curl up on the couch and watch football all weekend. I have to say Seattle played their hearts out, but Green Bay: you royally sucked. 
I was hoping Baltimore would lose, just because I don't like the fact that Ray Lewis is getting all of the attention and its taking away from the team aspect. I think Denver and Peyton Manning did a great job of turning that team around after the Tim Tebow drama, so I know they will have another shot soon. As one of the smartest quarterbacks, Peyton instilled discipline and confidence into that team and I think they really deserved it more, but Flacco and that arm really did some great things on the football field. Now I don't have much to say about Green Bay, mostly because it was the late game and by then my meds had kicked in and I fell asleep. But the first half was okay. I saw my guy Clay Matthews flying through and saving a touchdown pass. But it was all in vain as they lost to San Francisco and the tatted up Colin K. who is faster than I thought
Now the games yesterday were great. First there was Matty Ice and the Falcons trying to win their first playoff game, versus the underrated and overlooked rookie quarterback Russ Wilson. As a fan of the game I was cheering for both and believe me that game was amazing to watch. It went back and forth until the very end. ending in overtime. Seattle will be going far and Wilson, although smaller, has a great work ethic and is smart and will lead the team far, but I was happy for Tony Gonzales, one of the nicest, eloquent, and best looking TIGHT ENDS in football 
I didn't really watch most of the Patriots and Texas, mostly because I knew the Patriots were going to win, and I don't care for either team. The Patriots are arrogant and the Texans, who are also in Texas with my Cowboys, aren't shown a lot so I don't know anything about them. By the end of the first quarter, I had seen enough and decided to do other things. If you did watch the entire game, what did you think? Now the real games begin. Happy watching!!

SportsNSprinkles

Ugh! Sickness

I hate being sick. It just sucks the life out of you. I didn't get my flu shot last year and was fine. This year I got it and 2 weeks ago I got the worst virus I have had in over 6 years. I'll spare you the details but lets just say I think I lost all my holiday weight gain in 2 days. Now I'm sore all over, exhausted, clammy, sweaty. nauseous and starving at the same time! The flu is becoming more widespread throughout the country. Now that the virus is gone, I have a severe sinus infection from the Texas weather going from 70 to 50 to 30 in 3 days (I now I shouldn't complain, but still!)

So I will be taking it easy, washing and disinfecting everything I own, taking my vitamins, drinking tea and juice and trying to cut back on processed food. I just wish Spring, with the warm weather, would hurry up and arrive! I hope you all haven't suffered like I have for the past few weeks but if you have any home remedies and treatments I would love to hear them. Until next time, take care of yourselves!

SportsNSprinkles

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

What's your New Year's Resolution?

Happy New Year everyone! I personally don't believe in resolutions- it's like you set yourself up for failure. Why wait all year for one day to start being your best? Each day is a new chance to be better! for me, I have 3 main goals. First is to begin my Masters degree program in Criminal Justice. My application will be in the mail tomorrow! Second, is to start actively looking to be in a relationship. I have worked full time since the age of 15 and now that I am an adult and will be in school, I really want to strengthen my personal relationships. The third is my health. While I eat mainly healthy foods, I could definitely do better, as well as become more active. So getting out and walking, lifting weights, and taking my vitamins to ensure my maximum benefits of drinking enough water is essential to a healthy lifestyle.

I'm excited about my Life goals, and will look at them as life changes, not New Year's resolutions. If I slip up, the next day will be better.

What are your goals- Family life, work, education, Health?? Let's encourage each other to be at our est!

Cheers!
SportsNSprinkles

Welcome to Miami!

Just flew back from Miami. It was so fun, I really would love to go back! I visited Little Havana, South Beach, and the Cuban food was great! Some pics are included.

The reason for going was my sister's husband is a basketball coach and his team participated in a tournament. So during the day we were tourists, and at night we cheered his team on in a high school gym.

The weather was great- I was not prepared for the humidity! While it was 31 degrees in Texas, Miami was a great 75-80 degrees even on cloudy days! On the day we went to South Beach, the sun broke through and we got a chance to put our feet in the sand and walk the boardwalk. I have got to say Miami has some great looking men down there. We visited Miami Ink, the DASH store and The Clevelander Hotel and Restaurant.

I hope everyone had a safe and Happy Holiday Season. Now its time to make those resolutions. Leave your below!


SportsNSprinkles